Awards Ceremony

Congratulations to all the runners who placed in their categories!  At the awards ceremony we recognized the 40th Anniversary Race Chair, Beth Kane, and the co-chairs, Miko Burgstiner, Angela Crum, Sarah Helms, and Christie Martin.

We also extended a huge thank you to our title sponsors, St. Vincent’s Healthcare and Digestive Disease Consultants, and also to our gold sponsors, CenterState Bank, Duval Dealers, Ortega Orthodontics, and ValuTeachers.

This race marked the 40th Anniversary of the Ortega River Run. Back in 1978, seven months after the first Gate 15K River Run, Wirt Beard, Tom Donahoo, Sr., Rev. Barnum McCarty, Fred Miller, Bill Ketchum, Sr., and Russell Walthour decided to
organize a race “for the fun of it.

Their goal was to not lose any money. This first race actually made a profit of approximately $1,800. And now, after 40 years, this run has raised over $1 Million dollars to help students with financial need attend St. Mark's Episcopal Day School. 

We were honored to have four of those men with us at the award ceremony – Wirt Beard, Tom Donahoo, Sr., Reverend Barnum McCarty, and Fred Miller, and thanked them for the vision that has carried forward for forty years.

We were also honored to have found our longest "streaker!"  Alan White has run in every Ortega River Run. He claims to still have all the t-shirts too! See you next year, Alan!